Super Blueberry-y Muffins (first post!)

So, welcome to the PiggyBakes blog, where I am sharing my baking experiences with anyone who might be interested! I’ll be posting a couple of retrospective recipes soon, but for now let’s start with today’s bake – my super blueberry-y muffins!

Blueberry Muffin

I love a good blueberry muffin and for me, the more juicy blueberries the better! I’ve hunted around for the perfect recipe and have come up with a pretty damn good one which, as the name suggests, is very blueberry-y! The recipe is adapted from BBC Good Food’s Chocolate and Cherry Muffins.

http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/1737/choccherry-muffins

These muffins are super moist, packed full of juicy blueberries and they freeze beautifully too – perfect!

PiggyBakes Super Blueberry-y Muffins
Makes 10 pretty sizeable muffins (bigger than the above picture, which was taken from my first smaller batch of 12!)

  • 250g self-raising flour
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 200g blueberries (I use frozen)
  • 135g caster sugar
  • 2 large eggs, beaten
  • 150ml pot natural yogurt (I use Yeo Valley 0% fat)
  • 100g unsalted butter (I actually use 50g butter and 50g Flora Light – keeps calories down a smidge!)

– Pre-heat the oven to 170°C (based on my fan oven which I tend to always have a little lower than a recipe recommends so you might need to adjust this slightly) and line a 12-hole muffin tin with 10 muffin cases.

– Melt the butter over a gentle heat and then set aside. Sift the flour and bicarbonate of soda into a bowl and stir in the sugar. Add the blueberries and make sure they get a good coating in the flour mixture – it helps stop them sinking.

– Add the beaten eggs, yogurt and butter and stir until just combined. Make sure you don’t overmix – it doesn’t matter if the mix is still a little lumpy.

– Fill the paper cases with large dollops of the muffin mix and bake for 20-25 mins until risen and golden brown. Leave for a few minutes in the tin and then transfer to a wire rack to cool.

One thought on “Super Blueberry-y Muffins (first post!)

  1. Pingback: PiggyBakes’ Maple & Pecan Muffins « PiggyBakes

Leave a Reply

