Rocky Road Cupcakes

Rocky Road Cupcakes

There are a number of foods that I go slightly crazy for –  and one of these is Rocky Roads. I adore anything Rocky Road and so for my 27th birthday in July 2011 I decided to make myself some Rocky Road cupcakes.

These ended up as Chocolate Cupcakes filled with marshmallow and topped with chocolate frosting, mini marshmallows, raisins, glace cherries and chocolate fingers – immense!

The chocolate cupcakes and chocolate frosting recipes came from The Hummingbird Bakery Cake Days book. All of the cupcakes I have made from this book (and I’ve made quite a few) have turned out beautifully and I highly recommend it. The chocolate ones are beautifully light and fluffy, very moist and rich in flavour too.

I cut out the middle of each cupcake and filled them with melted marshmallow. I got this idea from The Hummingbird Bakery again (http://www.goodtoknow.co.uk/recipes/433315/Hummingbird-Bakery-marshmallow-cupcakes) but I’m pretty sure I used more than 12 marshmallows for the fillings, I think I used at least 15 -If you want to give it a go I recommend that you just buy a pack and keep melting more if you need to. Be warned though, it’s messy business!

Once filled, I put the tops back on and made up the HBB chocolate frosting. I piped this on and then topped with all my Rocky Road favourites (see above) – the chopped up chocolate fingers were a particular highlight. Although the toppings did ruin the prettiness of the piped frosting, they were so worth it.

Now, what to make for my next birthday?!

Leave a Reply

