Macarons – a first attempt

I came across a pretty simple sounding recipe for chocolate macarons (or macaroons?!) recently and thought it would be a good starting point into the world of macarons! I had never made them before but decided to give them a go, fully expecting them to be a disaster!

Chocolate Macarons

Whilst they didn’t turn out perfectly, they did turn out a lot better than I thought they would. They tasted really good and were nice and crisp on top but still chewy in the middle which I was pleased with!

Apparently the cracking on the top is due to them not having dried out enough before baking. I still have a lot to learn but I’m looking forward to giving macarons another go soon 🙂

I used a BBC Good Food recipe http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/252620/chocolate-macaroons and followed the advice in the comments section; piping them in smaller circles and baking for only 10 minutes.

Leave a Reply

