Vanilla Fairy Cakes

With a new KMix mixer plugged in and ready to go, I wanted to play! Time to whip up some cupcakes! However  I didn’t have enough milk in for my normal go-to recipe from the Hummingbird Bakery (and couldn’t be bothered to go out in the rain to get some) so rifled through my cookbooks for another option. I’ve had a lot of success with the recipes I’ve made from Peyton & Byrne’s British Baking so decided on their Fluffy Vanilla Fairy Cakes.

They are beautifully moist and light and have much more of a traditional “British” taste to them than the Hummingbird variety. The recipe includes natural yoghurt which I think helps keep them moist – I find a lot of traditional fairy cake recipes are actually a bit dry for my liking. I topped them with a modest amount of P&B vanilla butter icing – yummy.

Don’t be fooled into thinking these are dainty British fairy cakes though, they are definitely cupcake sized! If short on ingredients and time I would definitely turn to these again – my hubby loved them!

P&B vanilla cupcakes

Leave a Reply

