Rose & Pistachio Cupcakes

Time for another retrospective post – Rose & Pistachio Cupcakes.

I came across a recipe for Rose & Pistachio Whoopie Pies in The Whoopie Pie Book by Claire Ptak – the vibrant green pistachios against the rose whoopies were so pretty that I thought I’d give it a go as a cupcake. (Come to think of it, I must post about some of my whoopie pies. I make a mean Mini Dark Chocolate and Almond Whoopie!)

I turned to the good old Hummingbird Bakery Cake Days book again for their beautiful rose cupcake recipe and then simply topped with some chopped pistachios. The flavours work really well together and they  look stunning. They’d be great for a special occasion. I tinted the frosting quite a light rose pink, but they would be equally pretty with a bit more colour as well.

Rose and Pistachio Cupcake

*Frosting Tip* I piped frosting roses on these cupcakes (handy guide on how to do this here: http://www.cupcakes-to-your-door.co.uk/blog/index.php/2011/03/decorating-cupcakes-with-piped-buttercream-1/) . This uses less icing than my usual swirly towers of frosting, so you can get away with making 1/2 quantity…go for 2/3 if you’re worried about running out.

They also work really well with dark chocolate grated over the top instead of the pistachio. I’m going to try out a Turkish Delight cupcake soon, with either a chocolate cupcake and rose frosting or vice versa…decisions, decisions!

Rose and Dark Chocolate Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

