Super Girlie Vanilla Cupcakes

My niece was 3 years old this weekend – she loves princesses and pink things at the moment so it was the perfect excuse to indulge my girlie side and get the sprinkles out to make her some Super Girlie Vanilla Cupcakes!

My favourite vanilla cupcake recipe is The Hummingbird Bakery’s – I really haven’t found one as moist and light and I’ve tried quite a few. Everyone who has one absolutely loves them. You could use any vanilla cupcake recipe though, these are all about the decoration really.

Once my cupcakes were baked and cooled, I fitted two piping bags with different tips and added a few drops of pink food colouring to my frosting to make it pale pink. I filled one of the piping bags with half of this frosting and then added some more colouring to darken the remaining frosting and then spooned this into the other bag.

Then, it’s time to play! I kept it quite simple really, piping swirls onto some cakes, individual flowers or stars onto others and then mixing up the sprinkles! Great fun.

I think I’ll bake another batch sometime soon and get a bit more experimental – I usually just swirl my frosting so it was good to do something different with these. They looked great all together…and my niece loved them!

Super Girlie Vanilla Cupcakes

One thought on “Super Girlie Vanilla Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

