Strawberry & Elderflower Cupcakes

Strawberry & Elderflower Cupcakes

Believe it or not, last weekend was hot hot hot so I felt that some summery baking was in order – I wanted to do something with elderflower and, after falling in love with a delicious strawberry & elderflower ice cream last summer, decided to introduce some strawberries into the mix.

A bit of a disaster followed after trying to adapt my trusty Hummingbird Bakery cupcakes into elderflower cupcakes! I tried adding less milk and substituted with some elderflower cordial but the batter ended up really really runny (and not very elderflowery!). I also added some tiny pieces of chopped strawberry partway through baking (trying to stop them sinking) but I left it too late and they kind of just sat on the top of the cakes. The addition of elderflower cordial to the frosting made it too runny so it didn’t keep its shape after piping. I then topped them off with strawberry halves which made the frosting even soggier! Oh dear! They were edible, but I wasn’t happy!

Take one - strawberry & elderflower cupcakes

However, as luck would have it, an elderflower cupcake recipe turned up in the Waitrose food magazine that I picked up on Sunday, so I decided to try try again, having learnt a few lessons!  This time I followed the recipe and added some chopped strawberries into the cupcake cases just before baking which worked really well. I then added a couple of teaspoons of strawberry jam to a simple buttercream frosting (the recipe on the back of the icing sugar box in fact!)

Success! They were delicious 🙂

Strawberry & Elderflower cupcakes before frosting

The waitrose recipe can be found here: http://www.waitrose.com/content/waitrose/en/home/recipes/recipe_directory/e/elderflower_cupcakes.html

 

Leave a Reply

