Red Velvet Cupcakes

I have a confession to make. Until I made these I had never had a Red Velvet cupcake. Scandalous for a cupcake enthusiast such as myself I know!

After making these, I can now see what all the fuss is about – AMAZING!! I made the Hummingbird Bakery version, as I’ve heard they do some of the best Red Velvets out there. To be fair, I can’t compare them to any other Red Velvet cakes but even so, they were absolutely delicious.

The recipe is different to a “traditional” sponge recipe and contains buttermilk, white wine vinegar and bicarbonate of soda. The vinegar and bicarbonate of soda fizz up when mixed together and I think must help to create such a light texture.

I was a little worried about the colour and whether they would be red enough as I know a lot of people have problems with them turning brown! I used a gel food colouring in “Christmas Red” and I mixed this with a little water to make sure the mixture wasn’t too dry (the recipe calls for liquid food colouring). The cakes were a little more brownish on the outside but very red inside so I was pleased!

If you’re like me and have never tried a Red Velvet cake, make some now!

Leave a Reply

