PiggyBakes’ Birthday Cake!

This has caused much amusement amongst friends but for the second year running I have made my own birthday cake! Hubby offered to get me a birthday cake but he knew I’d much rather make one myself. This year I decided on a three layer vanilla sponge with chocolate buttercream filling/frosting, topped with chocolate buttons and chocolate fingers.

Yum! I used the Peggy Porschen Victoria Cake recipe for the sponges from her Boutique Baking book – she soaks the cakes in a sugar syrup once they are out of the oven and this helped to keep the cake really moist. It was delicious – perfect for a birthday cake!

I used my favourite Hummingbird Bakery Chocolate Frosting recipe for the filling; sandwiching it between each layer of cake and frosting the sides and top of the cake with it too. I then covered the top in giant chocolate buttons and stuck alternatin white and milk chocolate fingers round the sides. (A little tip if anyone wants to do something similar – put a layer of frosting on each chocolate finger before sticking it to the frosting on the side of the cake – I didn’t do this and mine didn’t stick that well.)

Happy Birthday to me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

