Blueberry Bagels

You should have seen my face watching the Great British Bake Off on Tuesday; lusting after all those bagels! I LOVE bagels – my favourite breakfast is peanut butter and banana on toasted wholemeal or cinnamon & raisin bagels. John’s blueberry and white chocolate bagels looked particularly delicious so I thought I would give them a go, minus the white chocolate so I could toast them.

I’m not that confident with bread/baking with yeast and don’t make it all that often, mostly due to time. However when I have made it I always really enjoy it and I have had some successes which I’ve been pleasantly surprised with. I’ve just watched the repeat of the bake off  and after seeing the ones on the show I have to say I don’t think mine were too bad! I think they could have been a little bit fatter but overall I’m really pleased with them -I thoroughly enjoyed one for breakfast this morning with sliced banana and a drizzle of honey.

Thanks to John for sending me the link to his recipe – http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/blueberry_and_white_51475

A few tips/changes:  I baked my bagels for about 18 minutes on 210C (fan oven).

Stretch the holes out a bit bigger than you think you need them, as they will spring back together somewhat and you don’t want them to seal up.

Make sure the bagels are placed somewhere warm enough to rise. My kitchen was a little bit cold for the first rise which is why some of them were a tiny bit flatter then I would have liked.  John had advised me on Twitter not to overprove the dough though, so perhaps they are not meant to be quite as fat as I expected!

Cathryn from the bake off also tweeted a bagel tip for me – add a sprinkle of brown sugar to the poaching water. I don’t actually know if this made any difference but I did it and am pleased with the results!

 

EDIT: I’ve decided to enter this bake into Lottie’s Bake Off Challenge from Lottie’s World of Cakes and Bakes. 🙂

One thought on “Blueberry Bagels

  1. Pingback: Lotties World of Cakes & BakesBake Off Challenge Round Up 1! - Great British Bake Off - Lotties World of Cakes & Bakes

Leave a Reply

