Cherry Bakewell Birthday Cake

Regular followers of this blog may be aware that I wanted to make a really special birthday cake for my Mum recently and had a practice the week before her birthday; making a Dark Chocolate, Cherry and Raspberry Torte. I was really pleased with how it turned out but it was very rich and just didn’t feel right for her.

My Mum’s favourite pudding is Bakewell Tart so I had a look around and found a Cherry Bakewell Cake on BBC Good Food. That sounded more like it – right up my Mum’s street! However I’d been so pleased with how the torte turned out, the decoration on the BBC cake just didn’t look special enough.

I’ll be honest and confess that I made two of these cakes. The first one, I decorated with glace icing, toasted almonds and wafer daisies but it just looked like a five year old had done it! I was so disappointed! However, with the second cake, I swapped the glace icing  for an almond buttercream (used the basic recipe from the back of the icing sugar box with a few drops of almond essence), piped stars over the surface of the cake and then decorated it with glacé cherries, candy flowers and wafer daisies. Much better and my Mum loved it.

A few quick notes about this cake – it is really really good! It’s really moist, very almondy in flavour (I used 1tsp of almond extract instead of 1/2) and although quite sweet, everyone loved it. Mine was cooked in about 25 minutes and it easily serves 10 rather than the 8 suggested by BBC. My friend who is a chef said it was the best sweet thing he’d eaten in ages (although he had the leftovers of the glace icing version!)

 

Leave a Reply

