Peanut Butter & Banana Muffins

Peanut butter and banana is one of those combinations that I’m slightly obsessed with. A toasted wholemeal bagel with peanut butter and sliced banana is possibly my favourite breakfast ever! So when I saw Rachel Allen making her Peanut Butter & Banana Muffins on her new “Cake Diaries” show last week it took me about 30 seconds to decide that I would bake them at the weekend!

The recipe can be found here – http://www.rte.ie/lifestyle/food/recipes/2012/0904/3265-crunchy-peanut-butter-banana-muffins/. I pretty much followed it to the letter. I think I may have over mixed my muffins slightly as they were a little bit tougher than I would have expected – you have to be so careful with muffins, the less you mix them the lighter and fluffier they will be! I also think they could do with a touch more moisture so will probably add a tbsp or two of yoghurt next time.

The balance of flavours in these muffins is just right though – a perfect mix of salty peanut butter and sweet banana. I’ll definitely re-make them; they’re perfect for a mid morning pick me up.

Leave a Reply

