Chocolate Melting Moments

The other week we decided to visit my husband’s family including my little niece and nephew. Not long before we left I realised I hadn’t baked anything for them! I know it wouldn’t have mattered but I always like to take a little present up with me (any excuse to bake something!)

So I skimmed my cupboards to see what I had in (not a lot) and got searching my baking books. My brother bought me a huge Leith’s Baking Bible for my birthday and I figured there was bound to be something quick and simple in there. Their chocolate melting moments ticked all the boxes and actually turned out to be some of the nicest biscuits I’ve ever made with a good biscuity crunch and delicious chocolate flavour.

Perfect for a bare cupboard baking emergency!

Chocolate Melting Moments
Makes 18-20

115g unsalted butter, softened
85g caster sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
140g self raising flour
2 tablespoons cocoa powder
7-10 tablespoons porridge oats

– Pre-heat the oven to 160C (fan) / 180C and line two baking sheets with baking paper.

– Cream the butter and sugar using an electric mixer until pale and fluffy and then add the vanilla.

– Sift the flour and cocoa together and add to the butter mixture, bringing it together to form a dough.

– Take teaspoons of dough and roll them into balls. Then, wet your hands and roll the balls again lightly so they are a little damp. Now roll them again in the porridge oats and place on the baking sheets, spacing them about 5cm apart.

– Press the biscuits down to flatten them slightly and then bake in the oven for approx 12-15 minutes (mine were ready after 12).

– Remove from the oven and leave to cool on the tray for a couple of minutes before removing them from the tray and placing on a wire rack to cool completely.

One thought on “Chocolate Melting Moments

  1. Pingback: PiggyBakes’ White Chocolate and Almond “Melt in the Mouth” Cookies | PiggyBakes

Leave a Reply

