PiggyBakes’ White Chocolate and Almond “Melt in the Mouth” Cookies

I’ve been full of a cold this weekend and trying my best to rest. But I get restless and an useless at sitting around doing nothing. I decided to raid my cupboard and come up with a new recipe using only what I had in the fridge/cupboard.

I made a Bakewell Tart for my husband last week so had some ground almonds to use up. I also had a bar of white chocolate sitting around doing nothing so decided to combine the two. I usually pair almond with dark chocolate, or fruit, so thought I would give it a whirl with something different.

Not too long ago I made some really simple Chocolate Melting Moments, which were a perfect mix of biscuity crunch upon first bite, followed by a beautifully soft, buttery, crumbleyness that meant they almost melted in the mouth. I decided to play around with this recipe and create my own. What I ended up with were the most beautiful melt in the mouth cookies. They are such a lovely texture; so light and crumbly. The almond flavour works perfectly here with the sweet white chocolate. They would be just as good with milk or dark chocolate as well I think, depending on your preference.

They are also ridiculously quick and easy to make – a beautiful batch of freshly made cookies in under half an hour! Perfect.

photo (82)

I’m entering these into the Alphabakes Challenge which is hosted by The More Than Occasional Baker this month.

PiggyBakes’ White Chocolate and Almond “Melt in the Mouth” Cookies
Makes 12 cookies

115g unsalted butter, softened
85g caster sugar
120g self raising flour, sifted
35g ground almonds
1tsp almond extract
100g white chocolate, chopped.

– Pre-heat the oven to 170C (fan) and line two baking sheets with baking parchment.

– Place the butter and sugar into a large bowl and cream together using an electric mixer until light and fluffy.

– Add the almond extract, flour and ground almonds and then beat again until the mixture comes together into a soft dough.

– Take heaped teaspoons of the dough and roll in your hands to make a ball. Flatten these out slightly and place on the baking tray. Flatten out a little more into a cookie shape, making sure that you leave approx 5cm between each cookie as they do spread out when baking.

– Bake for approximately 12 minutes until the edges are golden. They will be quite soft when you take them out of the oven but just leave them for a few minutes on the tray and they will firm up. Gently transfer the cookies onto a wire rack to cool.

– Melt the chopped chocolate in a heatproof bowl over a pan of barely simmering water. Once melted, dip a palette knife into the melted chocolate and flick it back and forth over the cookies to create haphazard strips of chocolate. Don’t worry about being neat; the messiness is all part of the charm.

 

AlphaBakes_Logo

Leave a Reply

