Chocolate Chip Rolo Cookies

I am now back to my usual baking self…hurrah! Hubby and I were given some mini Rolo chocolates for Christmas this year and I immediately thought they they would work really well in a cookie. 

I stumbled upon a new Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe this morning in the Waitrose magazine. The picture in the magazine looked yummy and they were described as crispy, chewy and oozing with chocolate. I have a standard cookie recipe which I use, and have also had success with condensed milk cookies before. However, these looked delicious and I thought I’d try out a new recipe.

Wow! I’m so glad I did. These produced a proper cookie dough, not so firm that you could roll it/cut out shapes, but firm enough to scoop up and roll into balls. My go-to recipe produces quite a sloppy batter which can’t really be shaped and can be a little hit and miss if it spreads out too much. The cookies I’ve ended up with are so good and live up to the crisp/chewy description. My hubby has just said that you’d be super chuffed if you bought them from a shop/bakery. I think this might become my go-to recipe from now on.

I adapted the recipe slightly in that I used 100g of mini Rolos and 50g milk chocolate chips instead of the recommended 150g plain chocolate chips. I also used 1tsp baking powder instead of 1/2 tsp bicarb (I didn’t have any in) and light brown sugar instead of light muscovado sugar. Finally, the original recipe called for chilling the cookie dough in the fridge for 1 hour. I couldn’t be bothered so didn’t do this – the cookies are fine. Perhaps they would be even better if I’d done this though…who knows.

IMG_2054

PiggyBakes’ Chocolate Chip Rolo Cookies (adapted from Waitrose Kitchen Magazine, Jan 2014)
Makes 12 cookies

110g unsalted butter, softened (you can just take out the fridge and warm in the microwave on a plate for a few seconds if required)
100g caster sugar
60g light brown sugar
1 large egg
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp salt
1tsp baking powder
190g plain flour
100g Mini Rolos
50g milk chocolate chips

– Preheat the oven to 180C (fan) and line two baking sheets with baking paper

– Cream the butter and sugar together for 3-4 minutes in an electric mixer/using electric beaters until light and fluffy. Add the egg and vanilla extract and continue to beat until combined. Add the salt and sift in the flour and baking powder. Mix well with a wooden spoon until you have a soft cookie dough.

– Add the Mini Rolos and chocolate chips and stir again until evenly distributed. Take two heaped teaspoons of dough per cookie and roll in your hands to form a ball. Put onto the baking sheet and flatten slightly with the palm of your hand. Make sure you leave room between the cookies, as they do spread whilst baking.

– Bake for approx 10-12 minutes (mine took 12 mins) until the edges are just turning golden. Remove from the oven and cool on the baking sheet for five minute before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

